A Full Day

So, several of you have asked for it – now you’re going to get it: a blog.

I’ve tried these before. I do a baseball blog in season – I put it aside late in the 2016 season as I burned out on the season and needed a break. It will be back shortly.

I started a blog several years ago and after a month, it died. I ran out of things to say. That may happen here, so, we’ll see.

Most of my postings on facebook over the past year has had to do with my adventures as a driver: Notes and Observations. I’ll get responses that will say, “you should do a blog”. I never thought those adventures by themselves were interesting enough for a blog.

I thought to myself, if I did a blog, what would I do with it? It’d be fun to have folks read it and engage it, but honestly, if I were the only one to read it I would want to be proud of it. What do I want to say? What do I want to put out there?

This week, I came upon an idea for the blog. I watched some college basketball this past week and ESPN was presenting the annual Jimmy V Classic from Madison Square Garden to raise money for The V Foundation for Cancer Research.

The V Foundation was helped started by and is named after Jim Valvano, the late basketball coach at North Carolina State University, who passed away from cancer in April 1993. A little over a month before his death, Valvano gave an iconic speech during ESPN’s ESPY Awards.

The speech, nearly 10 minutes in length, is the thoughts of a man who knew he was dying, but was not leaving this world without a fight. If you have never watched this speech, take the time to do so and be inspired to embrace life, no matter the limitations of time.

For me, the iconic words from the speech are the following:

“To me, there are three things we all should do every day. We should do this every day of our lives. Number one is laugh. You should laugh every day. Number two is think. You should spend some time in thought. And number three is, you should have your emotions moved to tears, could be happiness or joy. But think about it. If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day. That’s a heck of a day. You do that seven days a week, you’re going to have something special.”

On Valvano’s tombstone in Durham, it reads: “Take time every day to laugh, to think, to cry.”

As we look forward to the new year, that’s what I want to do for a New Year’s Resolution – and what I want to do it for a blog. As Valvano said, If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day.” And thus, the name of the blog: A full day.

I don’t know where this blog will go long term. It may die out in a month, or last a lifetime. This may come out daily, or weekly, or sporadically.

But I want to do this for me and encourage others to step back and pay more attention to what’s around that is so often missed.

For those reading this: If you have ideas for any of the three (laugh, think, cry) you would like to share, I welcome your input.

Leave a Reply

