A Full Day: A Hickory Passenger Story, Near Kindness, and a Proud Papa

“If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day.” Jim Valvano

 

Today is December 13, 2016, the 347th day of the year.

On this day in 1950, James Dean began his career when he appeared in a Pepsi commercial.

 

Laugh:

I had my first Hickory-based rideshare ping when I came home from Charlotte Saturday night. I’m sitting in the living room at 1:30 a.m. Sunday morning and I get a ping. I think, “Why not?”

The pickup was at an establishment in Mtn. View. I arrived and picked up four people and over the next hour, I made several stops to drop off persons. I went from Mtn. View to downtown Hickory, to Highland Ave. area and then to Viewmont. When I got to Viewmont, a couple-friend of my last droppee was too inebriated to go anywhere, so the last person I was to drop off volunteered to pay for their ride home. A quick stop to Glenn Hilton Park area to release the last of the original four, then on to… Mtn. View.

So, I get the address for the new couple and then I leave for the final destination. When I arrived, I had to wake them up to make sure I’m at the right place. The wife assured me they were home and asked that I drive down the hill of the driveway so they could go in the backdoor. We say goodbye. I turned to look back out of the driveway and there is the gentleman in all his glory shaking the dew off the lily. “It’s their driveway,” I think to myself, as I want to just get home at this point. Suddenly, the wife makes the discovery – this is not their house. We’d gone two houses too far.

 

Think:

What is the kindest thing you almost did?

How often do we think about doing something kind for someone else, but for whatever reason we pull back and the opportunity passes?

 

Cry:

My oldest daughter Joy sent me a video a friend made of her singing a solo during the Christmas cantata she was a part of at her church. As I watched it, I had a proud papa moment.

During the 11:00 hour this past Sunday morning, Joy was singing a solo at her church where she attents. Our son Andrew was singing a solo at St. Luke’s UMC in Hickory. My wife Debbie and my youngest child Grace were singing solos at our church in Hudson. I was playing the piano.

For a person that has spent his life in the church, this was a cool moment for me and worthy for tears of joy.

Leave a Reply

